Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
I read my codes - Now what do they mean? >

I read my codes - Now what do they mean?

Notices

I read my codes - Now what do they mean?

Old 05-05-2008, 04:59 PM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default I read my codes - Now what do they mean?

Hey guys! UPS brought my Rinda code reader this afternoon so I used it. My boat is a 2001 Formula 260BR with a 496 Mag. The engine/boat has 109.2 hours on it. I just bought it used so I'm still learning this engine. I took it out a few weeks ago and got a couple hard alarms. After reading on the forum I realized that it was probably low drive lube or low coolant. I topped those off and also fixed a small gasket leak in the heat exchanger from when I winterized it. I then took it out again and it would run along for about 20-30 seconds and get on plain and then the power would drop off and bring me back to idle. The alarm did not sound at all in these situations. After that I changed the water pump impeller, and spun on a new fuel filter/water separator. While working next to the engine I discovered that a spark plug boot wasn't actually on the spark plug but wedged in between that and the head....

Took it back out and now I can not get on plain before the alarm sounds for about 2 seconds and brings be back down to idle. At that point I can idle back to the dock and I do not get any further alarms as long as I stay at idle. The boat starts great and idles great.

As you can see I've had multiple issue with this engine at the same time. Here are the codes that I was able to read:

Fault 94 - PITOT CKT LO - 109.2Hours (count 888)
Fault 118 - Steer Ckt Hi - 109.2H (count 34)
Fault 9 - Guardian - 109.2Hours
- Guardian
-706rpm
-Engine Load 17.9%
- Available Power 6%
-3.8psi sea pump pres
-oil level 0.0%
-demand 11.6%
-manifold air temp 86f
-barometric pres - 14.1
-manifold pres 9.4psi
-coolant temp 156F
Fault 144 - Low Drive Lube - 108.9H