Notices

Fuel

Old 05-26-2009, 06:37 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel

I have an 185 gallon tank and with boat laid up with probably 150 gallons with fuel treatment over winter do I have any limit on time to run boat soon or will gas hold up alittle longer. Also, do you guys ever put alittle of the stabilizer during the summer months. Because, sometimes a few weeks at a time might go buy before I run it. I have to run 93 octane in it due to the blowers etc.... Does the stabilizer hurt anything in engine???

Thanks
Old 05-26-2009, 08:30 PM
Registered

Received 18 Likes on 9 Posts

Do you run E10 or pure Gas? If it is E10 stabilizer will not help from fuel separation. I empty the tank in the fall and fill as needed in the spring. When using E10 do not pump more fuel than you will burn out in a couple of weeks. I am not a fuel expert but I destroyed the tops of all my rod berrings, most likley due to this problem. I used stabilizer on a full tank of gas stored for about 6 months.
Old 05-26-2009, 09:10 PM
VIP Member

If you have blower motors, get rid of that fuel !!! Pump it out into your cars, neighbors cars and lawnmowers !!!

Put fresh fuel in because if you do not, you run the risk of detonation due to boost and lost octane rating. It will be well worth the hassle. Cheaper than building a new motor !!!

And next fall run boat until almost empty and store it empty.
Old 05-27-2009, 02:04 AM
Charter Member # 55
Charter Member

Received 1,821 Likes on 907 Posts

If you have to run 93 octane, then you have do something to boost the octane back up. Gasoline looses octane and Stabil does not stop the octane loss. Figure .5 loss inoctane per month to be safe. You have to mix some high octane race fuel to bump it back up or pump it out into your cars and trucks and start fresh.
Old 05-27-2009, 07:49 PM
Registered

Default fuel