Notices

more speed?

Old 06-13-2009, 08:47 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default more speed?

Hi guys, most of you are going to giggle at these questions,...but I have to ask them anyway. I am new to high performance boats. I recently purchased a 1988 28ft Scarab Excel that was in need of repairs. I got it VERY cheap, so I can afford to put some time and money in it. Of course the last owner lied alot to sell the boat, but I caught most of them anyway. The question is...This boat is dry and is solid. It has a new 450Hp 502 CID crate engine in it. Merc outdrive. A Quicksilver 3 blade 26 pitch (I believe anyway) prop. I have had it on the lake several times. Everything works very well and the engine sounds great. But I thought the boat would be faster. The best on GPS is 51mph @ 4,300 rpm. Any suggestions on what I can do to get at least 60mph?
Old 06-13-2009, 09:14 AM
Registered

Location: Omaha, Nebraska. Boat on the Mighty Mo! Longest river in the USA!
Received 37 Likes on 23 Posts

Originally Posted by Scarab Billy
Hi guys, most of you are going to giggle at these questions,...but I have to ask them anyway. I am new to high performance boats. I recently purchased a 1988 28ft Scarab Excel that was in need of repairs. I got it VERY cheap, so I can afford to put some time and money in it. Of course the last owner lied alot to sell the boat, but I caught most of them anyway. The question is...This boat is dry and is solid. It has a new 450Hp 502 CID crate engine in it. Merc outdrive. A Quicksilver 3 blade 26 pitch (I believe anyway) prop. I have had it on the lake several times. Everything works very well and the engine sounds great. But I thought the boat would be faster. The best on GPS is 51mph @ 4,300 rpm. Any suggestions on what I can do to get at least 60mph?
Why to big of a prop. You need to get the RPMs at around 4,800, try a 23p prop.
Old 06-13-2009, 09:15 AM
Registered