Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
Mefi3 ECM Shift Interrupt problems. >

Mefi3 ECM Shift Interrupt problems.

Notices

Mefi3 ECM Shift Interrupt problems.

Old 07-30-2009, 08:20 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mefi3 ECM Shift Interrupt problems.

Hello there all,
I’m new to post but have been lurking a while. I’ve been fishing through posts for info on the Mefi 3 Ecm’s.

I could really use some help from anyone ho has been tuning these boxes. I have purchased MEFIBURN and have no problems with the uploading, however I am lost in 1 dilemma.

I have dropped a 98 454 MPI motor in 89 Bayliner 2850, Errrrr I know but I have a Baja also with a great Gen V edelbrock heads, roller and all the rest t, I built 2 years ago.
But on the bayliner I left in the OMC anchor, oops, I mean drive and the shift interrupt is driving me nuts.

Ok most know an OMC Cobra will not come out of any gear forward or reverse without a momentary engine stall, you can pull on the shift handle all day until you rip the cable out of the gimbal. If the motor does not drop the rpm down to about 250 300 for a second your hitting the dock.

I have spoken Bob to a few times at, OBD Diagnostics and he said he has not had anyone really use the interrupt. The software has the flag switches to enable the shift interrupt but seems to only drop the rpm by about 40 or 50. There is a shift interrupt kill mode also and when enabled, does its job, a momentary blip and the motor dies. I built a relay with a lag and and other gizmos to make it open and close about 1 time per second, BTW that’s what I used for an interrupter with the old OMC setup, because I kept blowing the OMC module.

I tried to interrupt the coil with this relay, and the Ecm sees the no rpm for a second and thinks its restarting each time the interrupt is done, and the Rpm’s flare, and the Iac starts to open, but most of the time it will stall anyway.