#6 steering problem >

#6 steering problem

Notices

#6 steering problem

Old 09-20-2009, 04:54 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default #6 steering problem

Hello everybody - I am new to OSO and could really use some help.

I am installing a new set of #6 drives, single hi-volume power steering pump, dual filters (hi-pressure and low-pressure), std char-lynn helm.

1st question: drive hose routing can be two ways and I do not know which is correct. Left and Right hoses from helm to drives can either tee and go to each drive, or can run hoses in series (ie. L hose to stbd drive left, stbd drive right to port drive left, port drive right back to helm)

2nd question: when running pump, steering wheel stays still until slight pressure is applied, then it starts turning by itself all the way to stop. Does the helm have a valve that could be sticking? I have not tried this with the cap off the resevoir - could the system not be venting properly and the pressure is turning the helm?

Thx for any suggestions!
Old 09-20-2009, 07:49 PM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Not sure....However, aren't there two parts to the helm, one part, lines/fluid to right and left. The other part, tank/return and pressure.

The first part moves fluid to two hydraulic cylinders on each of the two drives. The second part serves to provide fluid under pressure to turn the helm/first part under command. The command is made/given when the helm is operator turned in the desired direction.

Not sure about what was just said....perhaps someone else can/will explain further....I would like to know more about how the system works myself.
Old 09-21-2009, 11:54 AM
Registered

Talking

sounds like 1 crossed line to me.

charlyn helm pressure (P)

Tank(T) or return where filter should be then to puke tank

left right look on the latham site or cp I think it shows blueprint and flow.
Old 09-21-2009, 12:24 PM
Gold Member
Gold Member