MSD..... marine or no..?? >

MSD..... marine or no..??

Notices

MSD..... marine or no..??

Old 01-27-2010, 01:41 PM
Registered

Received 77 Likes on 38 Posts
Question MSD..... marine or no..??

Has anybody used the MSD-6AL over the marine MSD 6m-2L..??? does the 6AL stand up to the marine environments..??
Old 01-27-2010, 01:50 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have been using the MSD Digital 6 Plus box (Pn 6520) since Oct 2006.. no issues yet.. (Knock on wood)..
Also run MSD crank trigger, MSD Pro-Billet distributor. MSD Starter. and lock timing out at 34..
Old 01-27-2010, 02:08 PM
VIP Member
VIP Member

Using them for the past 6 years. Pro billet dist. 6M and rev box. No issues. Freshwater applications on mine...
Old 01-27-2010, 02:20 PM
Registered

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by bigfarmer
Has anybody used the MSD-6AL over the marine MSD 6m-2L..??? does the 6AL stand up to the marine environments..??
Wouldn't recommend it . I had a piece break off the circuit board in one and left me stranded. The marine version is filled with a polyurethane resin to keep moisture out and everything in place. It's worth the $150 more.
Old 01-27-2010, 04:20 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Been running a 6al box in mine for 10 yrs,never a issue! their all waterproof at some point,i also have a 6al boxunder the hood of my truck mounted to the fan shroud for the past 13+ yrs,itsbeen trough all the salt,rain,snow and no issues.
Old 01-27-2010, 05:38 PM
Registered

Originally Posted by mrfixxall
Been running a 6al box in mine for 10 yrs,never a issue! their all waterproof at some point,i also have a 6al boxunder the hood of my truck mounted to the fan shroud for the past 13+ yrs,itsbeen trough all the salt,rain,snow and no issues.