525 EFI problem >

525 EFI problem

Notices

525 EFI problem

Old 08-01-2010, 11:39 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 525 EFI problem

Hi guys, going out today, started the engines, let them warm up enough to see the gauges start rising, and leave the Marina. Get halfway down the channel and get a warning buzzer. Turn off the port engine, still beeping, turn off starboard and buzzer quits. Restart port engine and start turning around, forgot power steering is on starboard engine, get back to marina. Turns out I don't have any water going through my starboard sea strainer or engine- luckily it was only running at idle for about 5-6 minutes, and the gauge never got up over 190. Played with it for a few minutes, when it was hooked up to the freshwater flush water would be going through the sea strainer, but not out the exhaust, it was coming from the drain hole in the sportsmasters. I am a little new to these engines, and have a few questions:

1- could this be the impeller? If it is, why wouldnt water come through the exhaust when the flush line was hooked up?

2- how much damage could there be seeing as how it never got over 190 on the gauge and wasn't running very long?

Thanks for any help and suggestions, hopefully i'll get this fixed and back on the water soon!
Old 08-01-2010, 12:16 PM
Registered

Sounds like a water pump. Easy do it yourself for less than $100. just a few tools needed. Remove belt by loosening tensioner. Remove/replace pump. (2 hoses) Tighten belt. Change the entire pump not just the impeller.
Old 08-01-2010, 01:48 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Fixx

you said you were running the engine on the fresh water hose..their should be a series of ball valves that need to be opened and closed when running on the fresh water hose..then open them back up when sucking water from the lake..if water was coming out the drives instead of the headers that valve would have to be open instead of closed to do that..