Merc Magnums won't rev past 3500

Notices

Merc Magnums won't rev past 3500

Old 10-10-2010, 06:23 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Merc Magnums won't rev past 3500

Hi,

I'm new to boats but have lot's of car experience. I recently bought a 1989 34ft Scarab with twin 350 Magnum Mercruisers. They are replacement motors I'm told fitted about 5 years ago - they have Vortec heads and Holley carbs (6150). They only have 130 hours on them, and compression is in the range of 120-140 in all cylinders. They're fitted with stainless tube header style manifolds/risers - made by Hitek in Australia.

The engines won't rev past 3500 ( about 34 knots). The port engine has a bit of a hunting sound to it which I think is an overly rich mixture (plugs are wet and/or sooty). I haven't checked float levels yet - already replaced power valves.

Starboard engine runs very smooth, and picks up much quicker than port motor.

Each engine has a little facet solid state fuel pump.

I intend to change ignition leads, check float levels, and possibly re-jet carbs. I also have MSD boxes to potentially fit.
Don't think any of this would keep the engine revs down.

I'd appreciate some advice on what else to consider or look for that might be causing the engines to not rev and my max speed to be down at 34 knots. I haven't checked throttle lnkage yet to make sure the butterflies are wide open - I will do this too. I'm thinking fuel pumps might be inadequate - have bought a fuel pressure gauge and will fit it. I'm assuming if they are too small I should see pressure drop right? When the engines max at 3500 or so there is no misfiring that I can hear.

Thanks in advance, and thanks to all the posters here for providing inspiration and no doubt ensuring I'll be broke and addicted to boats for a while.. :-)

Cheers,

Craig

Last edited by earlysport; 10-10-2010 at 06:25 AM.
Old 10-10-2010, 06:48 AM
Registered

Received 29 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by earlysport
Hi,