Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
A Lot Of Questions!! 508 & B&M 250??? >

A Lot Of Questions!! 508 & B&M 250???

Notices

A Lot Of Questions!! 508 & B&M 250???

Old 06-30-2011, 11:27 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A Lot Of Questions!! 508 & B&M 250???

I am new to working on boats and blowers.. I will try to make it short. This is my dads boat it's a Obsession 25 vortex when he got it it was a stock 502 single 1050 carb with a small cam and a 250sc 4 1/2psi boost and 9:1 compression. About 4 years ago the distributor when bad so he took it in to get it replaced they took it out to test it and they had the timing to high and melted a hole in a piston. He had the motor rebuilt with all the good stuff lowered the compression to 7.5:1 compression converted to all roller and bigger cam with a good set of Gm head that was on a racing boat that been all out ported and the biggest valves they could. After the new motor (508) was installed the boat runs the same mph running same boost and does not pull as good so he was disappointed it didn't run any better so it's been parked for 3 years. I was coming back from Florida last weekend and he call and told me to stop by the shop and pick up the boat and do what ever I had to do to get it right. First thing I saw 3/8 fuel line,3/8 fuel filter and 1 holley blue fuel pump so I will be installing all 1/2 fuel line,1/2 fuel filter and two holley blue fuel pumps to makes sure it has the fuel it need. Then I said we need to turn up the blower speed some to make up for the lost compression. I called The Blower Shop and talk to them to see about a smaller pulley and I already have a 3.35 top pull so I measured the bottom pulley and it's close to 5 9/16 they said with the current pulley's it should be making 8-9 psi of boost but it's not. I called holley and they said the same thing but they called the 5 9/16 bottom pulley a 6" pulley. They both said that the blower should be very hot spinning tha