Mercruiser cool fuel question

Notices

Mercruiser cool fuel question

Old 07-07-2011, 11:27 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mercruiser cool fuel question

Ok, i have a 2000 model year 454 MAG in a stingray230sx with 480 hours
recently(year 10 and year 11 only) i am experiencing the "vaporlock" after shutdown, if i run it hard, but this never happened until last year.
Now i dont kno of any changes, my mechanic says its probably recent changes in fuel etc etc.
My rack storage place printed out a mercruiser service bulliten detailing checking fuel temp / coolant hose checks etc and ending with a fuel pump(booster)kit that is supposedly on all newer mercruiser models.
I guess my big thing is why now?? Is the fuel quality really that different than say, 3/4 years ago when i ran it the same, if not a bit harder ?? And now all of a sudden i get this crap??
Im not a mechanic, but i do repair other equipment for a living, and the tech in me says something is failing??
Could my fuelpump be giving up after 11 years/480hours??
My mechanic says NO/ it either works or it doesnt.
I dunno but checking on the pump shows NLA from mercruiser and superceded by a pump and cooler kit.
Now i CAN find that pump online as a seperate piece but my question is
did mercruiser change the cooler? Or is it the same as the one on the motor now??
My mechanic says try the "booster" fuel pump kit first as its a lot easier to install, as the fuel cooler/pump may require engine up or out to install
does anybody kno for sure why mercruiser requires the cooler/pump purchase?? Instead of replacing the pump??
I just wish i could get some straight/detailed answers
i want my boat to start everytime lkke it used to or at least kno why versus this i dont kno for sure what will fix it
all i kno is it used to run hard and never failed to start back up
and thats all i want
thanks

Anybody with answers feel free to email me or call me
304-549-4816 my internet is spotty right now