Best way to add 02 sensor? >

Best way to add 02 sensor?

Notices

Best way to add 02 sensor?

Old 07-09-2011, 08:51 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best way to add 02 sensor?

Does anyone know the best way of adding bung for 02 sensor? I would think on the Merc riser would be the best? I was going to upgrade my carb and would like to measure A/F ratios.

Also, what type of A/F measuring device/procedure do you all use?

I am not a pro at this but try to learn and do my own work so any help from the professionals is appreciated.
Old 07-10-2011, 07:39 AM
Registered

Originally Posted by TEXASRPM
Does anyone know the best way of adding bung for 02 sensor? I would think on the Merc riser would be the best? I was going to upgrade my carb and would like to measure A/F ratios.

Also, what type of A/F measuring device/procedure do you all use?

I am not a pro at this but try to learn and do my own work so any help from the professionals is appreciated.
http://www.jegs.com/i/Innovate-Motor...oductId=774546

What do you all think of this meter?
Old 07-10-2011, 12:29 PM
Registered

Received 18 Likes on 9 Posts

You are on the right track by thinking wideband O2. I have the Holley MPI kit with the wideband kit. It makes tuning very easy and accurate. I have the EMI exhaust with the long stainless risers. The O2 bung is located in the elbo on the riser. I have seen a spacer with a bung, it fits between the stock manifold and riser. That may work for you but I am not sure were I saw it at.
Old 07-10-2011, 02:26 PM
Registered

Received 110 Likes on 82 Posts

Texas,

I JUST did this two days ago. I bought a spacer that fits between the manifold and riser which is tapped for an O2 sensor. Dennis Moore sells one as does Wags Engineering (the one I bought) and I believe Dana marine has one too, but it looks a little specific to their exhaust. I'd recommend either of the first two if you go the spacer route. Cost about $90-95. The Dana unit is more expensive.