fuel problems in my scarab >

fuel problems in my scarab

Notices

fuel problems in my scarab

Old 10-03-2011, 11:22 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fuel problems in my scarab

Any explanations appreciated. I'm a newbie.

Ok, i'll break this into two parts cause i can get windy. The first part basic problems, second part longer with more details for those of you who dare.

Boat=84 30ft scarab new 350's

I bent some push rods and come to find out it was a tar like substance coating the valve stems. Cleaned and put back together and purrs like a kitten again. Another problem is that I adjusted the floats in the carbs and there seems to be a disolved aluminum in it(for lack of better words). I rebuilt them a little while back and found the same thing and dismissed it being that i had no idea of their history and they ran great after words. Nothing in any of the filters. Carb screens are clean. Tank from best i can tell is clean. Two problems-1 tar in engine-source?2 carbs are melting-what the hell.