Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
What do you clean your boat with? >

What do you clean your boat with?

Notices

What do you clean your boat with?

Old 07-10-2014, 01:46 PM
Registered

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default What do you clean your boat with?

I had a gray boat before my new sunny with a white bottom. This white bottom always has a light brown stain that will not come off. I know slimey Grimey will take it off but I fear it takes off the gel coat with it. I also heard from another boat that "Works" toilet bowl cleaner will work but again, I'm guessing it ruins the gel coat.

What do you guys use to keep your bottoms clean? Any tips appreciated. Plus tips for what you do your vinyl with inside the boat. TIA
Old 07-10-2014, 02:27 PM
Forum Regulator
VIP Member

Received 1,195 Likes on 519 Posts

Slimy Grimy is a great product. I've been using it for many years and no adverse affects. It's the best product for this purpose IMHO.
Old 07-10-2014, 02:44 PM
Registered

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

$1 store degreaser as soon as it comes out of the water at the ramp with some old beach towels and the bottom stays spotless. If it dries forget it has to be wet...
Old 07-10-2014, 02:50 PM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Fountain of Youth Power One Cleaner. Spray on, rinse off. Will kill that brown stain in about 10 seconds or less. I am an authorized distributor so I posted a video on one of the local party spots facebook page. Here you can see how quick it works. This was diluted 50% water. Power One is non-acid based, it does not harm the gel coat or any polish/wax you may have on the boat. It will work on a wet hull, but it works better on a dry hull. I would suggest less dilution if spraying on a wet hull. In this video the boat had just come out of the water, but the staining wasn't too bad. The worse the stain the less dilution.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dio3nCkiL4I&feature=youtu.be