Gen6 cylinder bore question max bore? >

Gen6 cylinder bore question max bore?

Notices

Gen6 cylinder bore question max bore?

Old 10-07-2014, 10:12 PM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 204 Likes on 132 Posts
Default Gen6 cylinder bore question max bore?

I have stock GM GEn6 blocks, had engine issues and I am fixing them after tossing a rod, cylinders are pretty rough and I am looking at the possibility of doing a 4.560 bore, is that acceptable on a stock gm block and yes I would have my machinist sonic test, I read lots of opinions on this, I would love solid input..

Thanks..
Old 10-07-2014, 11:40 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm far from an expert but have always heard max .090" over bore on a stock block.
Beyond that you need a large bore block or the walls are to thin.
Don't take this to the bank and deposit it 'cause it could be way wrong.
Good luck on your situation, I've seen your thread and am heartbroken about those engines.
Poor craftsmanship is my biggest fear as I go to build a new pair of powerplants for my girl.
As youngsters in the mid 70's we assembled blocks in auto mechanics in our junior and senior years of high school with smash out plastigauge for measuring clearances.
As I near 60 I sometimes I wonder if I'd be better served assembling myself in the same manner after machine work.

See ya,
Kelly
Old 10-08-2014, 12:20 AM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

4.600 is vary common on the gen 6 block..the only thing that worries me is the stroker crank which is hard on the side walls..yes def sonic test after boaring..if your as hard as you say you are you might want to spend the coin on some dart big m blocks..they are a lot stronger then the gm blocks and dont flex as much under power..
Old 10-08-2014, 04:56 AM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Originally Posted by FIXX