Overheating 350 in 1977 scarab 300 >

Overheating 350 in 1977 scarab 300

Notices

Overheating 350 in 1977 scarab 300

Old 12-18-2016, 02:00 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Overheating 350 in 1977 scarab 300

I have a 1977 Scarab 300 with factory twin 350's and TRS drives. Starboard motor is running hot, pulled seawater pump no damage went ahead and put new impeller in and new thermostat and motor is still running hot (no noticeable steam out the back and no water in oil), seems to have plenty of water coming out the back. Temp on exhaust is about 200 on both sides and risers are about 90 to 100 or so. Port motor is about 100 on exhaust and risers about 90 or so. I pulled exhaust and everything is clean and no scaling at all. I am struggling with this and could use any advice on this. I am new to the TRS drives and have not checked the flapper or anything waiting on manual in the mail. The exhaust to riser gasket has the water jackets blocked off on both sides of the exhaust. Boat came from the Ozarks and was in a barn in Conroe for 10 years or so and previous owner pulled heads and had them reworked because both cams were flat from original owner not setting valves correctly. So new cams, heads reworked, new intake and 4brl carbs transmission cooler is routed out the back and not thru exhaust anymore and has great flow. Sorry for all the info but more is better.
Old 12-19-2016, 12:15 PM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Its reading and is hot in the thermostat housing ,both manifolds on that motor are too hot to keep a hand on ,but the risers are normal temp? Are those the old brick style rear exit? Amazing there not clogged.
Does it get hot idling at the dock and just get hotter when moving the boat under a load? Do you have enough room in there to have your pump draw water out of a bucket or pan on the trailer to check the flow? How about flipping your inner 2 exhaust water dump hoses port to starboard and monitor those manifold temps,