Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
Does hail damage boat even if nothing is visible ? >

Does hail damage boat even if nothing is visible ?

Notices

Does hail damage boat even if nothing is visible ?

Old 03-27-2017, 10:03 AM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Does hail damage boat even if nothing is visible ?

Just wondering if Hail does damage to a boat even if you cant see any hail marks - last night we had a bad hail storm, my truck, wife's car and house took a good beating, very large hail (baseball size) just want to make sure, my boat out in the same mess.

Any info is appreciated !
Old 03-27-2017, 12:25 PM
Registered

Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts

OH NO-- sorry to learn of this - I hope all of you are ok and the damage is minimal.

It would seem to me that if you had that bad of a beating on your house, car (I have some experience with hail on a roof and siding) that it would most likely affect a boat in the same way. At least I would have the insurance company have an inspection of the boat and give you some kind of assurance that while you may not see immediate damage there could have been fractures of the gel coat that will only become visible after the boat is in the water - and experienced flexing during normal use.

just my 2cents

3pointstar
Old 03-27-2017, 12:28 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 3,038 Likes on 1,352 Posts

North Dallas last night, a buddy of ours got hammered, a lot has to do with how hard the hail is to the damage it does.
Attached Thumbnails Does hail damage boat even if nothing is visible ?-hail.jpg  

Last edited by F-2 Speedy; 03-27-2017 at 12:30 PM.
Old 03-27-2017, 02:06 PM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Thanks guys, the hail was about the size of the picture above, my windshield got blown out and any flat surface is totally damaged, My bak flip bed cover is completely destroyed.

But all is repairable !
Old 03-27-2017, 02:23 PM
Registered

Received 742 Likes on 400 Posts