tempeture gauge flucuates >

tempeture gauge flucuates

Notices

tempeture gauge flucuates

Old 06-18-2017, 07:44 AM
Registered

Received 11 Likes on 2 Posts
Default tempeture gauge flucuates

i have 500hp"s on one of the motors the temperature gauges fluctuates will go from the low reading of 100 to 150 stay there for i lttle bit then back down to the low reading of 100 the back up to 150 or in between i have replaced the water pump impeller and the thermostat how do you check the sending unit., are any other suggestions

thanks
later
Old 06-18-2017, 07:55 AM
Registered

Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts

Check the connections to all the electronics. In addition, while I'm not a mechanic - SO PLEASE DON'T TAKE THIS AS GOSPEL- I've been told that if you have wild variations of temperature - up/down-up/down - it could be pointing to a head gasket -- again I'm not a mechanic and I don't want to scare you. Another item was the thermostat you installed the correct temperature range? We have a 7.4 MPI and our temp stays pretty constant around 165-170

best of luck

3pointstar
Old 06-18-2017, 08:26 AM
Registered

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

swap the 2 senders. if they are in the thermo housing, mebbe swap the 2 housings. but it sounds like water flow. pull thermo hsgs and clean out. backflush incoming raw water hose. but separate and flush each piece separately. if there are 2 coolers on there, you hafta open up between them and flush the one that gets water last so that it doesn't push the junk into the other one. then pull hose at transom and flush first cooler so water and gluck comes out there. then put a hose on transom fitting and flush out the transom assy, preferably with drive removed, but not absolutley necessary.

Last edited by dereknkathy; 06-18-2017 at 08:35 AM.
Old 06-18-2017, 02:24 PM
BUP
Banned

Received 41 Likes on 35 Posts