Engine alignment issue >

Engine alignment issue

Notices

Engine alignment issue

Old 09-18-2017, 03:31 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine alignment issue

Hey all! I am relatively new to boating, unfortunately I got into a project right away. I am having issues aligning my engine. The motor is a 1990 454 mag/bravo 1. Earlier this season I took out the engine coupler. While the engine was out I replaced the transom assembly with a brand new one. The new transom plate has a rubber bushing that the engine sits on, where the old one did not. My question is what washers should I be using between the transom plate and engine?

The old plate had no rubber bushing and used a woven washer and a double wound lock washer. Seems to me that the new rubber bushing would replace the woven washer. When I look at the parts fiche for the newest style transom plate, it seems as though there is still the woven washer and a stainless steel washer rather than the lock washer.

The issue im having now is when I torque the rear mounting bolts the coupler is way too low and the alignment bar will not even go into the coupler.

any help would be appreciated. Cheers,
Old 09-18-2017, 03:37 PM
Registered

Received 698 Likes on 341 Posts

Need to replace the bushings in the bellhousing with the newer style, or remove the piece that snaps onto the inner transom plate and use your old washer and spring.
Old 09-18-2017, 03:42 PM
Registered

Originally Posted by Unlimited jd
Need to replace the bushings in the bellhousing with the newer style, or remove the piece that snaps onto the inner transom plate and use your old washer and spring.
is that rubber bushing on the inner transom plate easily removed? I could lift the back of the engine slightly. Everything on the engine is already tied back in so doing the bushings in the bell housing is a last resort
Old 09-18-2017, 04:06 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 3,040 Likes on 1,353 Posts