Just need general info on a motor and boat set up I'm building >

Just need general info on a motor and boat set up I'm building

Notices

Just need general info on a motor and boat set up I'm building

Old 01-13-2022, 10:47 PM
Registered

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Just need general info on a motor and boat set up I'm building

So I'm new to boating and this is my first boat project starting from a "cheap hull". I started with a decent shell of a 1988 chris craft 245 limited then searched high and low for a replacement 454 bbc and had no luck until one day I found a 454 big block with a TSR outrive and twin M&W turbos with everything to install so with out saying I obviously purchased it. But now can't seem to find info on the turbo kits or my chris craft 245 limited for that matter... it seems I chose the only boat set up that doesn't have much information accessible on the internet very easily...
Old 01-14-2022, 06:20 AM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 499 Likes on 274 Posts

Welcome to OSO, specific information on the 245 Chris Craft will be limited and useful info on marine twin turbos, will be even more rare. Check out the Chris Craft owners forum here, some really excellent builds going on at the moment.Sounds like yours will be a cool rig. Full Force had a 245 limited, I think, glassdave had a Chris Craft, I think it was a 260 stinger. Do a search on them and Chris Craft and you should find some information. I can't help with what the actual model specific details.
What are your goals?
What type of water do you boat in?
How tight is your budget?
Get your post count up and lets see some pictures
Old 01-14-2022, 07:40 AM
Registered

Received 793 Likes on 448 Posts

Is it a water cooled turbo arrangement? The only M&W turbo set-ups I've seen are on diesel farm tractors... and the only reason why I recall the M&W is b/c I thought the actual turbo was a Garrett pieced in as a replacement.
Old 01-14-2022, 09:57 AM
Registered