Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
86 baja 220 force >

86 baja 220 force

Notices

86 baja 220 force

Old 01-25-2004, 06:35 PM
pcgarret

Smile 86 baja 220 force

any one know what prop i need to run to get the best speed and hole shot , motor is a new 454 with alpha 1 drive
thru hull exhaust and what speed should i expect to see

Old 01-25-2004, 08:36 PM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

pcgarret - You say your motor is a 454. Is it a mag or 7.4 330 hp?? Either way, I don't know if an Alpha drive and a BB is a real good combination if you're looking for all out performance. I'm not an expert, but it might be a good idea to post a question about your Alpha drive and 454 combination. There's allot of knowledgeable guys here at OSO that would be able to give you some good information on the subject.

Regardless, to give you some insight on performance, I have a Nova 23 that had a 7.4 330hp with a Bravo 1 drive. With that motor the best prop seemed to be the older style 23" Mirage, not the Mirage Plus. With that prop it was up on plane pretty quick. Top speed was about 58 on gps. The Nova is probably heavier than your Baja, so I expect you'll be faster than that. In fact, as your boat is probably lighter than a 23 Nova, a Mirage 23 Plus may be a good prop to try.

With the current 500hp 502 my Nova seems to like a 25 inch. Hole shots and top end are much improved
Old 01-26-2004, 10:28 AM
Neno the mind boggler
VIP Member

Received 271 Likes on 96 Posts

with care the alpha should be OK with the big block(stock) , the 220 is a much lighter boat than the nova and also has a much shallower freeboard and dead rise.

kidnova what kind of speeds are you seeing with the 500hp 502. sounds like a nice setup. i always liked the novas.
08 OPA High Points Champion
10 OPA Class 1 National Champion ( happy now Ed! )
Old 01-26-2004, 11:26 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

23' Nova Thinking about T- 350's W/ Alphas
T-4.3 V6's Now