Top 10 Newbie Mistakes >

Top 10 Newbie Mistakes

Notices

Top 10 Newbie Mistakes

Old 02-12-2004, 05:56 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Top 10 Newbie Mistakes

I would like a take from some of the old dogs on the board. I am somewhat new to powerboating and I would like the advice from the pros as to what are the ten biggest screw up newbies make with their new boats. It can be mechanical or moral... Just help the new guy.

Thanks
GarDog
Old 02-12-2004, 06:01 PM
Registered

Remember this about advice: If its free, its probably worth it.
Old 02-12-2004, 06:08 PM
Registered

Safety equipment should be the FIRST concern.
Old 02-12-2004, 06:08 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

...a few things that have stranded me:

Never run your outdrive without a water flush connection....not even for ten seconds.

Change your sea pump impeller no less that every two years.....more often than that if you don't obey the rule above.

Service your trailer every season or eventually, you will end up on the side of the road instead of at the water.

Boat fuel gauges lie worse than politicians.
Old 02-12-2004, 06:16 PM
Toxic FORMULA
Platinum Member

At the ramp???? DON'T FORGET THE DRAIN PLUG
Old 02-12-2004, 06:31 PM
Gone Fishin'
Charter Member

Respect the ocean/lake you are on. Water is very unforgiving and very hard at anything above 40 mph or so!

Weather is NOT irrelevent. No matter what anyone tells you. Respect the weather.

Check your oil!!!

Keep a stocked safety kit. Everything from bandaids to scissors. You can buy a good one for very little money at Boat US or West Marine.

Life Vests!! Enough said.

If on the ocean or one of the Great Lakes, VHF can be indespensible. Cell phones cannot always be counted on, but bring it along.

Check your oil!! (did I say this already???)

When in doubt, give way. Assume other boaters do NOT know what they are doing. Better alive and wrong than dead right!!

Red right returning.