XZ Drive problem >

XZ Drive problem

Notices

XZ Drive problem

Old 06-14-2004, 08:42 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default XZ Drive problem

I have 2003 ActiveThunder 28 Savage running a 525 with an XZ Drive and Bravo One 26P four blade. This past weekend I was running up the Potomac River at about 65 MPH in smooth water when the upper or lower or both pieces of drive blow out.

Has anyone else experienced a similar problem? If,so please contact me and let me know what you found out.
Old 06-15-2004, 12:47 AM
Forum Regulator
VIP Member

Received 1,195 Likes on 519 Posts
Default Re: XZ Drive problem

AT28,
Very sorry to hear about your issue, and I hope you are still under warranty. I know of you and your boat, but I do not believe we have met. I have the 37AT "Monsoon", so make sure you stop me if you see me out. I live in Woodbridge.

As for your XZ. I am just learning about the drive myself, as my new boat has two of them, however; most Merc drives being somewhat equal in design and maintenance, can you give us some details? How many hours? How many hours on the fluid? Any sign of wear on your drain and vent plug magnets? On a scale of 1-10, ten being the hardest, how hard are you on your drive, coming out of the hole and such? Have you pulled the drive and done a visual, and lubed your grease fittings in the upper's U-joints?

Last edited by Sydwayz; 06-15-2004 at 12:51 AM.
Old 06-15-2004, 08:45 AM
Registered

Brian,

Thanks for the reply and I will definitely keep an eye out for you on the Potomac. Now the question is when will I be back out on the water again?

Additional detail.