Spring Maint - Outdrive Removal >

Spring Maint - Outdrive Removal

Notices

Spring Maint - Outdrive Removal

Old 02-15-2005, 04:29 PM
rkeith01

Default Spring Maint - Outdrive Removal

Hello-
Wanting to get some tips on how to remove an outdrive for spring maintance, I've never done this before. Been searching through board here it seems pretty simple and straight foward.

from a previous poster (sorry I forget who it was):
If you want to do it right pull the drive right off.It is a lot easier with two people.Take the trim cylinders off undo the six nuts on the outdrive,make sure you unhook the speedo line and pull the drive off.You wiil lose some gear lube when you pull the drive but there is a valve in the line from the remote reservoir that will cut the oil supply off,pull the drive and inspect the u joints the gimbal is up in the transom.....

So is it that simple? Just wondering why the shops are getting $200+ around here???

Anything that I need to be aware of? Read some stuff on Alpha removals and it mentions placing it in gear before removal is this necessary for a bravo 1?

What about the seals/orings should they be replaced too? And is all I need the Merc drive installation kit, p/n 16755Q1?

Thanks in advance for any help here....

Old 02-15-2005, 04:54 PM
Ginger or Mary Ann?
Charter Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: Spring Maint - Outdrive Removal

Wouldn't think that the $200 is just for the actual R&R itself. Probably includes checking alignment, greasing coupler and bearing. Just my guess.