Careers in marine finance >

Careers in marine finance

Notices

Careers in marine finance

Old 07-23-2008, 10:47 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Careers in marine finance

Prior to going to work raising money for a non-profit that I used to volunteer with I was a Branch Manager and then a Business Banker for a large bank. I am in the middle of some life changes, including moving to a much larger area than I previously resided in, and am leaning toward getting back into finance. I have been talking to a friend who is a mortgage broker about the possibility of doing some residential and commercial financing with him.

I was wondering, before getting real involved with that, how the marine finance industry is holding up? I read the recent posts about the repo's but figure when these boats do go back on the market someone will need financing. Is their a demand for lenders? Are the credit standards tightening like they are in the residential and commercial sectors? Is it primarily a desk job? What I loved about the Business Banking was getting out and meeting with clients and referral sources and prospecting new business.

Thanks ahead to anyone wishing to answer any of these questions.

Last edited by florida gator; 07-23-2008 at 10:51 AM. Reason: typo
Old 07-23-2008, 02:50 PM
Registered

Originally Posted by florida gator
Prior to going to work raising money for a non-profit that I used to volunteer with I was a Branch Manager and then a Business Banker for a large bank. I am in the middle of some life changes, including moving to a much larger area than I previously resided in, and am leaning toward getting back into finance. I have been talking to a friend who is a mortgage broker about the possibility of doing some residential and commercial financing with him.