Notices

Prop ?'s

Old 04-10-2006, 11:29 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Prop ?'s

Just came across this part of the forum and thought I might have better luck obtaining some answers. I had posted a couple of threads previously but had supplied some info that wasn't extremely accurate due to previous owner info and a very inaccurate speedo. I have 93' Venture w/ a 502 mag (only modifications are a set of EMI Thunder manifolds). My speedo is reading 74mph @ 5200 rpm w/ a 21p Mirage Plus. I just recently GPS'd the boat and found it to be running 65.6 mph @ the above mentioned rpm. Anybody w/ previous experience w/ this hull? I have talked w/ Matt @ Throttle-Up and he thinks the boat should at least be runnig a 23P Mirage. I am really new to the prop game and would appreciate anyone's input/experience. Anybody out there have any past/current experience w/ this particular boat model? Thanks in advance.
Old 04-11-2006, 09:21 AM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Prop ?'s

NV,
If you're talking to Matt, you're talking to one of the best prop guys in the country, particularly on Nordics. He's helped several of us (myself included) get our boats propped correctly.
Running your #s through a prop calculator (I am using 1.5 ratio for your gears as that would be standard, and you didn't give us that), says you have the most efficient Nordic in the world @ .048% slip. Normal would be mid teens (.15).
Your tach may be off (reading low), your gear ratio may be lower (1.3ish?), or your propeller may have been pitched up to a 22".
I would:
check the tach against a shop tach. as you see from your speedometer, they can be "happy".
find out what gear ratio you have. get the serial # off your drive and let a merc dealer run it for you.
test a stock prop of known pitch.
BTW, all my friends with 502 Mags in the larger heavier 28' Heat are using 24" Bravo 1 4 blades with excellent results.