Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Owners Forum > Nordic
Possible New Nordic Owner--Please Help! >

Possible New Nordic Owner--Please Help!

Notices

Possible New Nordic Owner--Please Help!

Old 10-31-2016, 02:20 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Possible New Nordic Owner--Please Help!

Hey guys, I've been eyeing the 25-28FT Nordics for several years now and it's finally coming time to pull the trigger. Can you guys give me a quick "run down" on these Rage and Heat boats? What should a novice buyer like me be looking for? I've seen some things about the 99-2005 Nordics being inferior wood construction. Trouble is, I don't think my budget will get me a 2006+ right now. Also, what engines did Nordic offer in these boats? I see 90% of them with a 496 H/O but have also seen a 502 MPI. Is one better than the other? What about closed/fresh water cooling, what years was it offered on? Any help you guys can give me would be greatly appreciated, I must say I'm a little overwhelmed trying to learn these boats!
Old 11-03-2016, 08:33 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Just like all boats out there with wood construction, check all the normal places for rot. Transom, stringers, floors etc. I had a 2000 MY Heat and was solid as a rock, even after it was left outside uncovered as a repo for a while. Yes, the wood free construction is nice and will probably last for many many years, but with proper storage and such on a wood boat, I am sure you would get plenty of enjoyment out of it. These are not a cheap construction boat. They are very well appointed and very well constructed.