Notices

Beginning The Boat Search

Old 02-16-2009, 07:53 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Beginning The Boat Search

Wife and I are looking to make the move to Lake Michigan this year. We started looking at boats last fall to see what would fit us best (cruiser to performance). After a few trips to "research" options, and hours of discussion, I have the wife sold on the idea of a 32ft to 35ft powerboat.

Hoping to ask the locals a few questions. I'll apologize ahead of time for sounding like a total newbie, but we have been on the Chain since 2003 (cant wait to leave it), and know little about boating on Lake Michigan.

1) We intend to drystack at Northpoint, since we live in Chicago and cannot store the boat at the house. Are there other options out there?

2) Is a boat this size capable of the typical 1-3ft wave reports I see when I look at the noaa weather for the lake?

3) Wife enjoys running, but also really likes to anchor and relax. Are there beach options for this if we head north?

We are currently looking at the used market for something with twin EFI engines in the 32ft - 35ft range. Budget is around 100k (trying to be cautious in the great economy of today). Any leads are appreciated.

Thanks,
Jimmy

Last edited by JimmyS; 02-16-2009 at 08:16 PM.
Old 02-16-2009, 09:01 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by JimmyS
Wife and I are looking to make the move to Lake Michigan this year. We started looking at boats last fall to see what would fit us best (cruiser to performance). After a few trips to "research" options, and hours of discussion, I have the wife sold on the idea of a 32ft to 35ft powerboat.

Hoping to ask the locals a few questions. I'll apologize ahead of time for sounding like a total newbie, but we have been on the Chain since 2003 (cant wait to leave it), and know little about boating on Lake Michigan.