260 Baja stock >

260 Baja stock

Notices

260 Baja stock

Old 06-24-2012, 10:31 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 260 Baja stock

Hello all! Just bought and old Baja coming from a 35 Fountain. Yes, down sized for health reasons. Very frustrating, might add since my 35 had twin blowers w/ speedmasters/cleavers... Anyways, bought boat as little project (was a mess) with son and I and getting frustrated on some speed tests -among other small issues. Though I'm no mechanic, i always try to leave the "hard "stuff to my mechanic...i can turn a few wrenches and diagnose on occasion. I'm getting 43mph max on GPS out of this 260 with stock 1991 7.4 / Bravo 1 thru prop exhaust. I feel no real "bite" from 4k to 4600 rpms. at 4k it does around 40 mph. I have replaced coil (was arcing), wires, plugs, all fuel (run 93 octane and at 10 advanced timing), exhaust among other non related items. Had Carb rebuilt as well last week. Motor has 200 hours but wasn't used a few yrs. Runs nice actually. I did have a similar boat and size in the mid 90's that I know did in the low 60's with same set up. Most people with same setup and prop are running mid 50's. I'm trimming the boat fine and my tabs are in the right place. I get a max 4600 rpm and the prop is a Mirage 21 SS. What ya think this boat should get at WOT? I had 1/4 gas, and only one passenger when testing on GPS. River was calm, slack tide.
Enclosed pic of Bam's Prop Calculator. Slip seems horrible at 28 % -my prop guy looked at prop and stated all looked fine but could add a little cupping if wanted. Any ideas -go to 4 blade? Though only a Mirage, a Mirage Plus 23 a better fit?. What pitch 4 blade? I would like cruising speed better, i don't plan on running at WOT like the old days. Boat planes fine. Would like to pull skier/tuber..

Any help appreciated.

Last edited by Dtile; 06-24-2012 at 10:42 PM.
Old 06-25-2012, 06:10 PM
Offshoreonly Advertiser
Offshoreonly Advertiser

Received 46 Likes on 13 Posts
Smile