Donzi 38ZR w/700sci, prop blowout >

Donzi 38ZR w/700sci, prop blowout

Notices

Donzi 38ZR w/700sci, prop blowout

Old 10-31-2013, 06:45 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Donzi 38ZR w/700sci, prop blowout

First off, I'm a little new to the real hp boating world. With that stated, I just bought a 38ZR w/twin 700sci. It had Merc 5b cleavers (17x37"). Was blowing out heavily while trying to plane. It turns out the props are only 16.75" and were ground down. At 80 slip was like 24%. Found a good deal on 6b Herings (17x37). These too blowout but much better and slip is down to about 16%. However, now she feels a little loose over 80 and worse as you go faster. I imagine stern lift is now the problem. I also imagine the high x-dim is causing the blowout. So my question is, does anyone have advice or combinations of props/spacers that work to minimize blowout and keep or improve top end speed/stability? Also, this winter I'm going to do a Whipple stage 3 or 4 upgrade. This should add another 165hp to 210hp (per Whipple).
Old 11-01-2013, 05:42 AM
Registered

Received 54 Likes on 24 Posts

Those are 700's with NXT drives? Some slip out of the hole is not surprising and I think just the way it is with that setup.. You have to manage those sticks.

I suggest you first figure out the power situation and then give Brett at Bblades a call to discuss. They have a prop testing program that you may want to use once you get the power set up.
Old 11-01-2013, 06:37 AM
Registered