Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool TRS to SSM5 UPGRADE

Looking for some specs on the conversion from TRS to SSM 5

How much if any does the engine has to be raised on the new transom jigging

Thanks for the help - this is a Cigarette Cafe Racer
Old 07-23-2015, 09:13 PM
Registered

Received 228 Likes on 77 Posts

Cafe with 5's will be bad ass!!! I don't see why you'd need to raise engines? Re drill transom for Ssm gimbal and bolt up the 5? They are so much shorter already why bother trying to raise engines ?
Old 08-03-2015, 02:26 PM
Registered

Received 433 Likes on 193 Posts

Originally Posted by 315duramax
Cafe with 5's will be bad ass!!! I don't see why you'd need to raise engines? Re drill transom for Ssm gimbal and bolt up the 5? They are so much shorter already why bother trying to raise engines ?
Wrong, don't listen to him.

I just went from TRS>Konrad>SSM5

Granted, I paid someone to do the rigging because I am no expert and didn't want poor results

I did boxes and drive shafts with mine. I know we moved the engines up, but as far as how much, I do not know. This is with 12" boxes, propshaft even with the bottom, also on a notched Top Gun. You will have to move engines. Also, SSMs take different transmission hookups than TRS (at least mine did).

TRS = plug in or splined shafts
SSM = flange mount or bolted connection

Don't spend a lot of $$$ rebuilding you old trannys thinking you are going to use them until you know for sure, like I did. It's a lot of work, probably have to fill some of the transom, even with boxes on. One more thing, if you are doing boxes, make sure your transom is nice and flat or the box will not seal. Another step that had to be done twice....

I can get more specifics if you need them.
Old 08-03-2015, 02:42 PM
Registered

To add, I think you should do it, especially if you have a SSM 5 package all lined up. It would really make that a unique boat. EFI Cafe with #5s, probably the only one like it, and you can abuse it alot more!!!