Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Owners Forum > Scarab
Things to look for in mostly redone Scarab 22? >

Things to look for in mostly redone Scarab 22?

Notices

Things to look for in mostly redone Scarab 22?

Old 09-18-2007, 09:27 PM
Registered

Received 971 Likes on 441 Posts
Default Things to look for in mostly redone Scarab 22?

On Thursday I'm going to take a look at a 22' Scarab, with a just-rebuilt 454MPI, Bravo 1, with the wood floor/backseat/engine hatch all redone in fiberglass. Owner says his GF hates the boat, and he has a center console now, and hasn't used the Scarab this season at all. Claims to have a 1 year warranty on the motor rebuild. He removed all of the graphics, in anticipation of redoing them, but he has obviously lost motivation to finish it given his story, so the hull is plain white.

Now, keeping in mind that I've been around boats for a while, but never really started learning all that much until this year (I'm a fairly competent auto mechanic on the side, though), what should I look for in terms of the work that has been done? Are there any telltale signs of a poorly-done job of replacing all of that wood? I know I should inspect the transom and stringers for rot/cracks, I take it that the only real way I can inspect that is in the engine compartment? He has no problem with having the boat surveyed, but before I waste the $, I figure I'll look it over myself and see if there's anything obviously wrong.

Thanks for any input.

Last edited by DrFeelgood; 09-18-2007 at 09:30 PM.
Old 09-18-2007, 11:00 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by agchoset