1st boat need advice on purchase 1988 scarab 28ft >

1st boat need advice on purchase 1988 scarab 28ft

Notices

1st boat need advice on purchase 1988 scarab 28ft

Old 03-12-2015, 04:30 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1st boat need advice on purchase 1988 scarab 28ft

Hello forum! I'm Tommy I'm from Orange County Ny. I'm getting into this hobby for the 1st time. I'm very close to a purchase and just wanted some input as I know nothing about boats. I have a lot of knowledge on cars but I do not do my own work.

The boat that I'm looking at is a 1988 28ft scarab with a 496 and bravo 1 drive. I'm worried about just buying a lemon. Is there anything I can do to inspect this boat my self? Things to look out for? The guy claims the motor was rebuilt with only 8 hours on it. It looks ok from the pictures. I'm going hear it run before I buy it. But I just don't know what the hell I'm getting into. I just spoke to a boat broker by phone and he said I have to worry about rotted wood. Anything I could do to inspect that? I'm going to be using this boat on the Hudson in Newburgh Ny area. Speed is not what I'm after. I'm more after the look and a loud v8.

He is firm at 11,500

Any input would be appreciated.

Thank you
Old 03-12-2015, 04:55 PM
Registered

Received 690 Likes on 276 Posts

if you do not know where to start, hire a reputable surveyor. Wellcraft scarabs are good boats BUT, as was mentioned to you have a reputation for wet/rotted transoms and stringers. pretty much ANY older boat runs this risk, If its bad it could easily cost you haf of what you paid for the boat to get fixed.
Old 03-12-2015, 08:51 PM
Registered
Platinum Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

You can find something more recent for a few dollars more...
Old 03-12-2015, 11:11 PM
Registered

Received 5 Likes on 1 Post