Notices

Newbie with ???'s

Old 03-06-2008, 09:07 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie with ???'s

First off, just wanted to say hello. I found this site searching on google and man, I am glad I did. Love the site!!!

I am fairly new to boats (been a drag racer all my life) and am now looking to buy my first one. I really like the Baja's and would like something in the 25-27' range. Of course, having the craving for big power, I want something that will run low 80's. I am very mechanically inclined, although I know very little about boats, so I figured something with say a 502 and I'll either install a procharger or buy one already fitted with one.

Now, here's my questions.... I found a couple of 30' and 32's that I like, but they usually have two motors. What is fuel consumption like with two motors vs. one blown motor? On these type boats, how long will a full tank of fuel last you? Meaning one with two motors vs one blown motor.

The reason for the fuel question is two fold.... first and foremost, fuel prices. WHOA!!! And secondly, I like to be out running around the water.... taking my kids out, taking friends out, blah, blah. Obviously I know the two motors would use more fuel, but are we talking a whole lot more? Or just a little more?

Also, I figured a smaller boat 25' would be easier to run around the river, although, I have seen some 32's there. But not quite sure how they manuever some of the more shallow parts.... but anyways.

Last question and yes, you guys will probably laugh at me for this.... but can you realistically pull a tube or stuff behind say a 27' Baja? You know for the kids and stuff? Or is the turning radius and other stuff just too much to be drug behind this type of craft?

Please be gentle, this is my first post and I really want to learn about this stuff. Love these big boats and even more.... I love going fast.
Old 03-06-2008, 09:30 AM
SORE MEMBER
Platinum Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post