Notices

Odnr

Old 06-29-2003, 09:41 PM
J.V.IRONHANDS

Thumbs down Odnr

Odnr ( post 1 of 1)
I've been running offshore boats for over 12 years and I truly believe that those of us that do operate these high performance boats are some the most knowledgeable, safety minded, conscientious boaters out there. Are boats usually outfitted with far more safety equipment than any federal, state or local laws call for. Yet we seem to be singled out for harassment. This is my story, after a rotten Spring we finally get out on the boat, for a sunny afternoon. I get safety checked every year by the Coast Guard and go by the Coast Guard station on my way out of the river to Lake Erie. By the way this happened in Lorain Oh. I've never had a problem, always run on one motor to make sure of no wake, When I do run hard it's off shore clear of other boats. About three years ago the state passed a noise limit of 90 dcb. which is truly on passable. But the Ohio Department of Natural resources is in charge of enforcing the law, but they have no meters available. Well the ODNR pulls me over, boards my boat with his BLACK shoes and marks my engine cover up, puts me through a safety check, when he finds nothing, puts me through a sobriety check, everything ok, but inform me that my vessel is much louder then 90 dcb. Getting aggravated my wife tries to calm me down, but I ask him to go to the dock a perform his sound check, he informs me he has no means to perform test, but informs me if he did he would surely ticket me. When I questioned him as to how he can put a citizen though this and not have the equipment to perform test anyway, he says, just get that boat back to the dock and we'll be watching for you and it better have a muffler system next time. He also inform me to not try to put silent choice system on because that's illegal to. I will put the muffler system on, but as we know next time it will be something else. how about some comments, I just want to see if anyone else has a ru