Notices

To Upgrade My Trailer or Not

Old 07-24-2012, 08:42 AM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 84 Likes on 31 Posts
Default To Upgrade My Trailer or Not

Ok, I have been kicking around the idea of upgrading the trailer for my Donzi. I have a decent aluminum Loadmaster under it now but because I store it on the trailer and when I do tow it is long distance, I would like the security and solidity of a C-channel trailer custom fit for the boat.

That said, who has what and can give some feedback on their Myco, Manning, Etc. Pros/Cons, prices, Etc.

I am definitely looking for a welded aluminum trailer, with a drive guard, LED lights, spare tires, Etc.

Also, what do you think a real world price would be for my 2003 Loadmaster w/ Aluminum wheels, torsion axles, dual spares, all recently gone through and in very good shape?
Old 07-24-2012, 08:48 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Tom talk to wrinkleface about his new Myco and even go read his thread. Myco should have fixxed his problems long ago but they are not stepping up to the plate on this one. Bunch of BS on a brand new trailer.
Old 07-24-2012, 11:06 AM
Forum Regulator
VIP Member

Received 1,195 Likes on 519 Posts

I've had my personal 37AT on both types of trailers, aluminum bolt together I-beam and now a Myco welded C-channel. The bolt together trailer offers no pro other than cost and a slight weight advantage. The Myco is built laser straight, and you can tell this by watching the tire wear over time.

I've also loaded dozens of 37ATs on dozens of trailers. The Myco wins hands down. It loads right, every time. The bunk trailers have a tendency to miss on the back of the boat, and the boat lands off the designated chine/contact point. I've never had this happen on a Myco. EoH brakes is a must, even though Tracy is having issues with his.

Your trailer is worth at least $3000.
Old 07-25-2012, 10:56 AM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Thanks Brian.