Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > Beware and Stolen
Warning - Hi-tek Marine Stainless Manifolds - please learn from my expensive lesson >

Warning - Hi-tek Marine Stainless Manifolds - please learn from my expensive lesson

Notices

Warning - Hi-tek Marine Stainless Manifolds - please learn from my expensive lesson

Old 07-08-2011, 11:28 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Warning - Hi-tek Marine Stainless Manifolds - please learn from my expensive lesson

Hello all from slow boater land. I just wanted to post my experience with Hi-Tek Marine Manifolds out of Australia. I purchased these for my small block 5.7 GXI Volvo hoping to add a bit more HP to my boat. The purchase process wasn't too bad, but the claims that are made about the product are pretty far fetched. Allen the owner was very quick to call when I had questions, but of course he wanted my $2300. Nevertheless, I am a bit of a novice but with his direction, I was able to get them installed. Allen told me that I would love these manifolds and that he had a customer that installed these with my same motor and gained 400 rpms.

Well, to make it short, the manifolds no performance gain whatsoever for my 5.7 VP Gxi small block. I did seem to pick up a bit on the low end, but I also changed out the original sparkplugs for NGK Iridiums, so I give them the credit for that really. It sounds good, even from the stock exhaust, but that is it really. I even thought that it might need to be tuned (although Allen said that was not necessary), but there is no way to get an AF wideband sensor to the exhaust as there is no port for them. Needless to say but I think that the improvement numbers for the manifolds that Hi-Tek claims are not entirely accurate.

In short, they look pretty, but that is about it. For my application they were a total waste of money. Probably should have known that.
Old 09-08-2011, 02:27 PM
Registered

Originally Posted by MAGISTER31