Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > Boating Safety
Boat Accident Sat. 9/22/07/near Del.mem.br. >

Boat Accident Sat. 9/22/07/near Del.mem.br.

Notices

Boat Accident Sat. 9/22/07/near Del.mem.br.

Old 09-29-2007, 03:45 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Boat Accident Sat. 9/22/07/near Del.mem.br.

Hello everyone,
I'm a newbie here; anybody familiar with the area of the Delaware River going south from say Philly, and just past the
Delaware Memorial Bridge, there's a place called Salem Cove?

We were in the shipping lane heading towards the D&C Canal; in about 40 ft. of water, veered off towards the
left after we went under the bridge, towards a shoreline; we proceeded at about 10 mph; depth dropped to about 25 ft., and out of nowhere, BANG!!!! we hit something that was so hard it ripped off all 3 blades of our prop!!! OMG we're thinking "what the heck was hiding in 25 ft. of water???!"

(We have a 22 ft. bayliner Capri, 1990, open bow with a mercruiser inboard/outboard/stern drive, 4.3 cubic liter, 6 cyl.) I was just wondering if anyone knows anything about that area or had a similar bad experience there. Luckily we followed my brother's advice "never go boating without a spare prop on board and know how to put one on in the water"..... Some guy from the CG told us that area has several wrecks underwater, and it shoals sharply, and also has many hidden obstructions. We did see a tall red buoy near there but it didn't warn us of any dangers; then I read on some site that if you see a diamond shape on the buoy it means danger. Don't recall it, but it could've been there and didn't know what it meant anyhow at that time.

Good thing we weren't hauling a$$, we probably would've ripped the hull right through and sank fast!!! Neither one of us was wearing lifejackets either. I had a few nightmares that night too, wheeeeeeeeeeweeeeeeee!!!!!

Comments please!

Michelle & Mark
Old 09-30-2007, 08:58 PM
Registered