Firefox Advise Requested >

Firefox Advise Requested

Notices

Firefox Advise Requested

Old 08-05-2019, 09:22 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Firefox Advise Requested

I am a newbie to this forum and am looking for insight as to the value of our boat.

Hubby and I have a custom built Cigarette Firefox that several people are interested in buying. It is black with red interior, has only been on fresh water, under cover and on a lift when not in use.

We are the original owners and the boat has 430 hours total time.

Since there were so few of them built, have been having a hard time finding a fair market value.

I do not yet have enough posts to add photos, but am working on it.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks, auntiemame
Old 08-07-2019, 09:51 AM
Registered

Received 283 Likes on 170 Posts

Based on info you provided I'd put the value somewhere between $20K-70K, the difference being how much have you spent improving the boat in the last 10 years and the quality of the work done.

What kind of motor?
What kind of improvements have been made in the last 10 years?
Transom replaced?
Fuel tanks/fuel system replaced?
Wiring updated?
Drives replaced?
Transom assembly replaced?
What kind of shape is the paint in?
What kind of shape is the trailer in?

Last edited by TexomaPowerboater; 08-07-2019 at 09:54 AM.
Old 08-07-2019, 10:32 AM
Registered

Received 793 Likes on 448 Posts

What hasn't been replaced and upgraded + a high(er) hour hour/ possibly tired engine is what depreciates any boat quickly.

You can drop $80K in rebuilding a $50K boat that only sells for less than $40K... it comes down to how bad does someone want the boat and how solid it is.

Unfortunately a "unique" or low production run boat does not equate to a classic car in the least.

Last edited by speicher lane; 08-07-2019 at 10:35 AM.
Old 08-07-2019, 01:45 PM
Registered

Originally Posted by TexomaPowerboater