Notices

What to look for???

Old 09-21-2017, 12:15 PM
Registered

Received 15 Likes on 5 Posts
Default What to look for???

Hello all

I'm very new to the boat world. I have borrowed a friends bow rider 21' Tahoe a few times now and my family and I love being out on the water! So I've been looking into getting my own boat. I don't really like the bow rider and would prefer something with a small cabin that maybe we could do some overnights in but is still not a big slow cabin cruiser... So after doing a fair bit of searching I've found what appears to be a very clean and well maintained 1992 Mirage 257 Trovare with a 502. The owner states its all up to date on maintenance and ready for the water! He is out of town so I haven't been able to go take a look at it yet but I'm hoping to this weekend.

As a newbie to the boat world I'm looking for a little advice on what to look for on this boat? I am a Ford Master Technician so I think I can look the mechanicals over and have a decent idea of what I'm looking at, But the Bravo 1 drive is something I know nothing about. I'm also curious in what to look for on the hull other than obvious damage... Where do I look to find the common hidden problems? Also if anyone has owned a Trovare please let me know what you thought of it? I have a long time family friend who owns a Mirage and he has nothing but good to say about the quality of these boats. So I'm hoping to hear the same from you guys.

My family and I are very excited to hit the water in our own boat soon! This boat fits right in with our price range and looks like it will do what we want it to do!

Any advise is appreciated

Thanks

Howard
Old 09-21-2017, 08:11 PM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 1,124 Likes on 474 Posts

Welcome to oso, hope you get something nice and join the masses of boating families!