Mercury #6 Drive Chronology >

Mercury #6 Drive Chronology

Notices

Mercury #6 Drive Chronology

Old 06-22-2007, 07:48 PM
Registered

Received 47 Likes on 30 Posts
Default Mercury #6 Drive Chronology

Just wondering what the chronology is on the #6 drives. When did they come out, when did they go to dry sump, when did the swept skeg come out, etc.?

Michael
Old 06-24-2007, 08:59 PM
Registered

Received 31 Likes on 24 Posts

I'm no expert on the Speedy 6 but here we go.

The speedmaster VI was originally designed by Fred Kiekhaefer back in the mid 80's when he was head of Kiekhaefer Aeromarine. It was released in 1988 as the Kiekhaefer K drive and only available to qualified race teams. Needless to say, it was a tremendous sucess. Mercury soon after bought out Kiekhaefer Aeromarine pretty much to gain the drive and re-named it the Speedmaster VI. Not sure when they were dry-sumped or the swept back skeg.

Last edited by Biggus; 09-27-2007 at 05:39 AM.
Old 06-24-2007, 10:38 PM
Registered

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts

first dry sump #6 was done by pat wiessman (shifter) in 95, i think. it was a modified wet sump drive. We had them on our first 36 skater, ct peppers, 1996 world chamopionship, !st place. we continued to use them until swapping to imco extremes in 2000.
Old 06-26-2007, 01:18 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

What exactly is a "wet sump" and a "dry sump" for us guys that can't afford $20k - $40k drives????
Old 06-26-2007, 01:45 PM
Registered
Platinum Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by marylandmark
"dry-sump" lubrication system features a precision-oiling pump that sprays a metered portion of oil to lubricate vital internal components. The system, mounted in the gear housing, uses one-fifth the quantity of gear oil used in previous 'wet-sump' models. Less oil in the sump reduces friction, adding 50 to 80 propshaft horsepower for improved overall boat performance.