Notices

Hello

Old 06-24-2016, 12:33 AM
Registered

Received 241 Likes on 60 Posts
Default Hello

Newbie here, did not see the new member thread, and since this question has brought me to this forum- I thought I would just start here.
1988 VIP vindicator- My first boat, I just moved to OK from CO, live 3/4mi from a boat ramp on Tenkiller lake, so I had to have a boat.
Couple things to start with
Anyone have reliable info on how much it weighs?
Bravo one drive, how much juice can it handle ?
454(330hp?) is a bit tired, It will last through this year no prob, but thinking of a rebuild this winter. Casting # does not definitively identify it as a 4bolt looks like I will find out this winter lol. If I get lucky, then I will handle the rebuild myself and can really finetune the output. If it is a female I wont waste the effort and will buy a rebuilt motor(4bolt maybe rec.port) from a supplier. I am pretty handy with a grinder and have built a few excellent street engines with oval port heads in the 400-425hp range, which is what I would think I should shoot for in this boat. If I have to buy a motor would the drive handle a 475hp Mag? I guess I am kinda stuck with the stock exhaust so the actual outputs may be less?
I dont know anything about the through hull ex. manifolds. The reason for a mag is its only a grand more(B-O-A-T lol) and a 330hp version would require disassembly to get the motor compatible with the bolt on goodies I would be looking at. It runs about 60 now with a 14.125/20 prop, but it seems pretty reved and strained and since I dont know the history I dont want to end my first boating season prematurely. End goal is 65-70 top speed with a comfortable 50mph cruise. If this is not a possibility with this hull/drive I will just freshen up this motor and start saving for a better platform. Thanks for the patience on the longwinded first post and for any help in advance.
Old 06-24-2016, 09:58 PM
Registered