Need help with what GPS/Chartploter to buy >

Need help with what GPS/Chartploter to buy

Notices

Need help with what GPS/Chartploter to buy

Old 01-15-2014, 10:20 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help with what GPS/Chartploter to buy

I am wanting to install a GPS/Chartploter in my boat and I live in Iowa so they dont realy cary this type of stuff in the stores. I have been looking at the Lowrence Elite 5m and Elite 4M but am just not sure. I have some space to install one on the lower right side of my dash but dont want to go to big. i have no use for fish finder just want the maps with depth conturer and the ability to mark points and to follow my track back when it gets dark. let me know all the help would be great and if there is somone that has a used item I would be interested.
[IMG]image_2.jpeg[/IMG]
Old 01-17-2014, 10:51 PM
Registered

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Hi I've been using a Garmin 3205 for 2 years now and although a great unit, I was looking for something with a much bigger bang with respect to simplicity of use, larger screen more features etc. A few weeks back I discovered the Garnin 741xi with the Blue chart G2 vision capability. This unit is sooooo impressive, well I can't say Ive seen or used a nicer unit. I went to the store today to have a look and walked out with the unit.....its a must have set up with the Blue chart G2 Vision. I like you couldn't care less for depth and fish finders but without going into great details......take a look at this unit!!! Its beautiful! I live in canada so the 741 comes loaded with US maps and I had to purchase Canadian maps plus the Blue chart G2 upgrade, It came to $2222.73 canadian dollars. Ive been playing with it set up in my kitchen ans extremely impressed with this unit and can't wait to swap out the 3205 in the spring. This unit can be mounted in dash or on a bracket....really....take a look at this unit! The 7 inch screen and resolution is a perfect fit for my 38 Fountain ho