Rot Rot and more Rot >

Rot Rot and more Rot

Notices

Rot Rot and more Rot

Old 09-06-2005, 05:24 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rot Rot and more Rot

Major Nightmare tore out floor everything rotted all the way to the nose. Have gone so far now i have no choice but to fix.
Cant trust no one else so i will do it myself. Have some questions,

1. Which type of mat do i use on the stringers
2. Which type of mat do i use to attach them to the hull
3. Foam Who is a good supplier

Any other sugestions would be greatly appreciated.
I will be working on gutting whats left over next 2 weeks.
Old 09-07-2005, 02:49 PM
Charter Member #232
Charter Member

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: Rot Rot and more Rot

Check out my play by play in the General Q&A if you want. There are lots of different ways to do it, and obviously the costs will very quite a bit.

Jon
Old 09-07-2005, 10:17 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Superwrench, I'm a rookie myself... what I've learned so far is that there are 10 different ways to do the same thing, and that there is no real consensus between the experts on which is the best way. Therefore, it lead me to believe that if I did my project and it worked… then I did it correctly.

I went to eBay and bought the 50# sampling of cloth from this guy; http://stores.ebay.com/OutbackSoluti...toreviewQQtZkm -- All of it works, but I found that using the light biaxial is the easiest to work with (for me). I did the big portions (the transom) using the heavy biaxial but you really have to pour on the epoxy to get that sufficiently wet. When I do my floor I will probably use the light biaxial again, 2 layers on the bottom and 3 on top.