gelcoat clean up >

gelcoat clean up

Notices

gelcoat clean up

Old 12-30-2010, 08:56 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default gelcoat clean up

I have been doing gelcoat repairs now for a few years, not very often though. I have always used laquer thinner for clean up. It doesn't seem to work very well. Is acetone the better solvent for clean up? I have to take my gun completely apart and clean it between coats or it gels up and gets plugged, or is this just the nature of doing gelcoat? Just looking for better ways of doing things.
Old 12-30-2010, 09:22 PM
Registered

I use acetone, its cheap and works. As for gelling up and having to clean more often yep, it definately isn't paint. After I had it gel up and turn into a rock in an expensive gun I'm like you and clean it out very often. Anymore if doing a small repair I spend the $4 on a Preval aerosol sprayer and shoot the gel out of that. If you go that route pop the mini screen of the end of the tube before filling the bottle. Gel coat seems to build up on that screen and stops the flow. Hopefully that helps a little.
Old 12-30-2010, 11:32 PM
Neno the mind boggler
VIP Member

Received 259 Likes on 92 Posts

when spraying gel you should always run acetone through the gun thoroughly before you mix the next batch and load it up again. If you are running multiple mixes in series the gel from the first mix will adhere to the passages in the gun and will start to kick as you are running subsequent cups through. The earlier stuff will be on a different curing schedule, hopefully that made sense lol. I use a regular "dump" gun for gel and it only takes 30 seconds or so to strip, clean and reassemble.
08 OPA High Points Champion
10 OPA Class 1 National Champion ( happy now Ed! )

Last edited by glassdave; 12-30-2010 at 11:35 PM.
Old 12-31-2010, 09:09 AM
Banned

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by Brandon