Fiberglass Platform Repair and Re-Gel Coat w/Pictures >

Fiberglass Platform Repair and Re-Gel Coat w/Pictures

Notices

Fiberglass Platform Repair and Re-Gel Coat w/Pictures

Old 05-21-2012, 08:26 PM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Fiberglass Platform Repair and Re-Gel Coat w/Pictures

I have a 2003 Velocity 260, that suffered some fiberglass damage to the swim platform last season. We originally wanted to replace with a tubular platform, but current budget just won't allow it. So I decided to repair the damage myself. I am not a newbie to fiberglass, but I also do NOT claim to be an expert either. This was my first experience with Gel-Coat though.... So I did all the repair and then re-gelcoated the platform. I didn't want to deal with the overspray and clean up associated with spraying the gelcoat, so I decided to use a foam roller and brush. The finished result is incredible, especially considering I used a brush and roller. Here is a link to the entire repair but I included a couple of AFTER PICS here in the thread. Not too bad for a brush and roller?

http://www.bradzgarage.com/velocity/...rm_repair.html

Last edited by low_psi; 05-21-2012 at 08:28 PM.
Old 05-22-2012, 08:39 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

That came out really nice, did you use a wax in your gelcoat to avoid the sticky surface after curing? When I've messed around with fiberglass I've either added styrene wax to the gel or sprayed PVA on top after it tacked up. Of course this only applies when the gelcoat isn't covered by 'glass.
Old 05-22-2012, 09:28 AM
Registered

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

That turned out really nice! Hard to believe the gel was applied with a roller and it looks like that!
Old 05-22-2012, 04:27 PM
Registered

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

Originally Posted by low_psi
Not too bad for a brush and roller?

not bad? i hope you hoisted that can of Bud light and toasted a succesful rehab!!!
Old 05-22-2012, 09:54 PM
Registered