Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > Fiberglass and Paint
I need some Fiberglass help PLEASE! >

I need some Fiberglass help PLEASE!

Notices

I need some Fiberglass help PLEASE!

Old 08-28-2012, 09:51 AM
Registered

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default I need some Fiberglass help PLEASE!

I am new to boats. I bout a 1981 formula LS302. When I got into it I saw that it needed stringers...I am handy so I would do it.

The boat store recommend a blue fiberglass resin and tri-axial weave fiberglass, premium materaials. The resin was typicall- ~$350 a bucket.

Where is a tutorial when you need one?

All wood done with Greenwood Plywood.

I mixed the fiberglass resin which was blue-ish color and MEKP at 0.8% due to it being hot out. I only got a few minute till it got a little thicker. It could be used for up to an hour then it got hot and hard.
Is this right? how long is it ok to work with?

NOW the frustration part. I only had triaxial FG. I painted the surface quickly put the glass on and paint over it....It would not soak up the resin. I end up folding the piece up and dunking it in resin to get good penatraion. This made the job REALLY hard. I wish I could have put it on and painted it. It took ~3 days. My back is killing me. What am I doing wrong??? Please help a noob out.
Old 08-28-2012, 04:20 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default fixx

Originally Posted by cyrus77
I am new to boats. I bout a 1981 formula LS302. When I got into it I saw that it needed stringers...I am handy so I would do it.

The boat store recommend a blue fiberglass resin and tri-axial weave fiberglass, premium materaials. The resin was typicall- ~$350 a bucket.

Where is a tutorial when you need one?

All wood done with Greenwood Plywood.

I mixed the fiberglass resin which was blue-ish color and MEKP at 0.8% due to it being hot out. I only got a few minute till it got a little thicker. It could be used for up to an hour then it got hot and hard.