How far should I go? >

How far should I go?

Notices

How far should I go?

Old 08-04-2013, 01:19 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How far should I go?

Hi I was just out working on my boat and found more than I was expecting somebody before me decided to cut out the rear seat bulkhead when I started cleaning up the edges to replace it I found that the front of the stringers are wet. should I just keep cutting and replace the entire stringer and floor or just replace the first few inches of stringer on each side. My transom appears to be dry, the exposed plywood around the gimble looks to be dry. Any input on how far to go and the proper products to use would be great. I have some basic knowledge of fiberglass but just want to know the correct way of approaching this, the wood work under the fiberglass is not a problem I am a carpenter and have the tools and know how.
Old 08-05-2013, 08:42 AM
Registered

Received 12 Likes on 6 Posts

You may have too drill a few 1/4" holes and see how far the stringers are saturated. That will answer your question on how far to take it. If the wood sticks to the bit, its wet. Drive a wood dowl pin in the hole and glass it or seal it back up if it is dry. Another option is to sell it and let someone else worry about it.
Old 08-05-2013, 09:14 AM
Gold Member
Gold Member

My stringers were wet for the first six inches or so. I cut them out from the middle of the boat to the transom and started from scratch. Once you start cutting and grinding, it's easier to take the entire Stringer out than trying to scarf in a section.
Old 08-05-2013, 08:01 PM
Registered