Rotten Stringers

Notices

Rotten Stringers

Old 06-04-2017, 09:57 AM
Registered
Platinum Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Rotten Stringers

I'm new here but I have some knowledge. I build boats in the 40 -70ft range and the molds. I keep reading about rotten stringers. What ever you do, do not cut them out. The stringers are installed while the boat is still in the mold. The stringers will keep the bottom design from changing. When you remove the stringers from the hull outside of the mold, the bottom will definitely flex. The bottom shape can change and the new stringers will keep that change. Many stringers are built hallow and then foam filled. The foam is for noise reduction and has no structural strength. The way I would repair it would be to grind the stringers and floor with a 24 or 36 grit paper.You need to grind 12 inches on either side of the stringer. This is the most important part. Vacuum the dust, blow it out and wipe it with acetone. The next step is 3 layers of fiberglass. You can use a 1708, 1808, a 24 or even a 36. I would use a combination of 1708 and 1808. You glass one side of the stringer and then the other side. The over lap is on the top of the stringer. The purpose of the overlap on top is that it creates an I-beam effect. The first layer is 3 inches from the stringer. The second layer is 6 inches from the stringer. The third is 9. The third layer can be one piece that goes over the whole stringer. On some boats we will put carbon fiber on toop of the stringer and down 3 inches on the sides' Be sure to grind between layers. I would not use vinyl ester resin. Its all I use but its very difficult to grind and gums up the paper quickly. Use a ortho iso blend. It will work better for you. Also use a 925 mekp. it works better also. I hope this helps someone.
Old 06-21-2017, 05:02 PM
Registered

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

So do leave the rotten wood in the boat. I am not seeing how to replace the stringers if you do not remove them.