Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   Formula (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/formula-36/)
-   -   Results: 292 with 280S K-Planes (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/formula/156608-results-292-280s-k-planes.html)

4mulafastech 04-23-2007 07:27 PM

Results: 292 with 280S K-Planes

Well the weather was finally good enough to get out and do some boating Saturday. I started a thread about a month ago showing pictures of my new 280S K-Planes installed by Competition Marine Center of St. Charles, MO. I have a 2006 292 with the 6.2's and put 57 hours on it last year when it had the stock Bennett tabs. Most of our boating is on the Mississippi river and also took it on Lake Erie, so I have some experience in various water conditions to compare. The Mississippi can get pretty nasty with big cruisers and barges and you all know how nasty Lake Erie can get.

I just knew the Bennetts were not doing this hull justice, and BOY was I right about that! By the way, I think it is disappointing that Formula does not offer the 280S K-Planes on the 292 (or 271 for that matter). When we were on the plant tour with Ryan before ordering the boat I tried to convince them to put them on, but for some reason Formula does not want to stray from the standard build sheet.

Now I have heard some comments like "heck, these hulls don't even need tabs"... Well maybe on those glass smooth Alabama lakes, but you get into some big water, that's another story (sorry Robert!:p )