Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   Fountain (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/fountain-37/)
-   -   Leaking crank seal (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/fountain/276956-leaking-crank-seal.html)

29Fever01 05-22-2012 08:14 AM

Leaking crank seal

Hey guys, I'm looking for some advice and info. Let me first say that I am new to power boating. I recently bought an 01 29 fever with the 500hp efi. The motor had been rebuilt recently, with all new gaskets, pistons and such, with about 40 hours of use on the new motor. This spring, I put about 3-5 hours of use on the boat, then changed the oil, filter, and fuel filter. Let me add that the previous owner was using straight 40 weight valvolene oil, and when I did the oil change, I switched to 25-50 mobile1. After the oil change, I put another 3-5 flawless hours on the boat. This past weekend, I put another 3 hours on the motor, with maybe 3 or 4 short wot bursts, but no more than a mile or 2 at one time. Then on Sunday, I checked the oil of course before I was going to use the boat. When I opened the engine hatch, I could immediatley see oil in the bilge. I checked the dip stick, and I was around a quart low. I filled the oil to full, and put the boat in the water so I could try and trouble shoot the leak. The oil looks to be coming out of the crank shaft, accumulating on the water hoses and then running down to the cooler that is below the crank shaft. While troubleshooting, I only ran the boat at cruise speeds, and checked the leak very often. It only seems to be leaking while the engine is running, and the oil up to an operating temperature of 200. And even then it's just a drip from the hoses. Nothing appears to be spraying. So at this point, I would have to say the crank shaft seal is bad? But this concerns me with this motor only having around 50 hours of use on it. Could there possibly be a big problem causing this, or just a coincidence a seal has gone bad, and just ha